top of page

Computer Guy

Today, I received a task from the director to help set up a computer lab for the students. According to him, the school received the computers a few years ago, in order to use in teaching and other activities. This, I thought will be a big boon to the students, since most of them do not have experience using computers. I am hoping that if the lab is set up quickly enough, I will be able to start teaching the students basic things on Windows 7 while the school finds a lab technician to replace me when I am gone.

Unboxing desktop computers and setting them up

`

One of the things that the director worries about is the fact that virus protection is utterly lacking in this area, which means that most people with a USB key and a SD card in their cellphone have viruses that they spread around every time they share a song with other people, or pictures, and such. Also, as soon as the computers are running, students who know how to use them will start by copying songs across storage devices, and therefore increase the traffic of viruses and such malware.

I found an effective free antivirus for the school, which I installed on half the computers. I am hoping that by the time they figure out an internet connection for the office computers as well as the lab, the school will decide to upgrade to a paid and more secure form of protection.

We are currently short of power adapters, so we were only able to set up seven out of fourteen computers. The maintenance guy, and the cashier will figure out a way to buy special kinds of power adapters in order to plug in the rest of the computers so that I will accomplish the rest of my mission, and move on to something else.

Removing viruses from an office computer while the students representative stands by

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favorite Ag Blogs
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page