top of page

A Day in Niangoloko

This morning, I drove my motorbike to the town of Niangoloko, in order to replace a calling Card that a gentleman sold me while he was distracted. He gave me the wrong one, and I am certain he realized his mistake afterwards, because as soon as I came into his office, he took the card from me and replaced it without any further ado. He was on the phone the whole time, and in a few minutes, I was back on the road. However, before I got a chance to exit the city limits, my motorbike started going crazy on me. Apparently, something is wrong with the transmission. I spent the rest of the day at the mechanic's, waiting for him to fix the issue. He had to make several trips to a bigger motorbike hardware store in order to supply new pieces in order to completely resolve the issue.

While I was waiting, I downloaded a whole new set of antivirus for the school’s computers, which I have to finish installing this afternoon.

When the director is not here, almost nothing advances. Today, while I was stuck in Niangoloko repairing my motorbike, I was expecting the secretary, and someone else to help mount the rest of the desktop computers so that I will install virus protection software on them. But to my surprise, nothing was done. The perfect reason for that is that someone in the chain of command was absent. And one of the beautiful things about bureaucracy is that simple things like this take forever to happen!

Since I will have to wait until tomorrow to install the software, I decided to drop by the class to see what the students are learning. Turns out it was agriculture class today, and they talked about the theory of caring for young plants. That includes weeding, mechanically, by hand, or by weed control sprays.

And as usual, we are still waiting on the rains in order to start real work in the fields.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favorite Ag Blogs
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page