top of page

IT Instructor

Guys, I got news. Today, I received the keys to the new computer lab that I helped setup this week. I therefore got together a group of thirteen students, and started teaching IT lessons. The first lesson today was made of a ten minutes lecture about the parts of a desktop computer, as well as a few terminologies. After that, I showed the students how to start their computer, then we learned how to use the mouse, left click, right click, double click, etc. We opened a few pictures, minimized a few windows, restored them, closed windows, learned to select several files, deselect, and things like that.

We did not get to typing in Microsoft Word, but I promise to get to that first thing next class. There are six groups in total, of twelve students each since the room has thirteen computers. I will propose to the administration the idea of working with students after school (5-7pm). Since I am not a hired teacher for the school, I cannot be programmed to teach during normal school hours. However, we are all conscious that computer skills are becoming central in student success nowadays. So I will be using every opportunity I can to get some knowledge across.

I mentioned in some posts that the students are very distracted, and playful during class. But I have to say that my classes are fast-paced, leaving little room for chit-chat, and the students have never been quieter.

All eyes on the board: I project all of my class because I like to demonstrate things so that everyone will follow. Many people I work with cannot read so I have to use the icons and symbols to explain things... What a rewarding experience!

I think it has to do with the fact that everyone has dreamed of learning how to use a computer, and that dream has just come true. Some cannot believe their eyes how quickly they are learning, and others are simply marveled. The other part is that I have been clear enough with them how I want them to behave if they want to get anything out of this class. The meanest thing I have ever said to them is the reminder that I am only here for one more month, so they better be attentive and make the most of the time we will be spending together. This is true but, the way I put it probably sounded like I can’t wait for the month to run out…

And I do not think I have a reason to think that way since I am living like a king, and I like it here, more than I thought I would. I have survived a whole five weeks without any reliable cellphone service or internet connection. I feel disconnected from the world, and yet, I have the whole world around me. The staff in the school is very respectful, helpful, and hospitable. The boys are friendly and come to visit me at my new place often. Unfortunately, most female learners become self-conscious when I am around so that makes it hard to communicate with them. It makes me feel like I am only nice to the guys, and ignoring the girls. On the plus side, some girls are eager help me with cooking, cleaning and other chores. I am thankful for the help, but I need to be careful because people here are close-minded. It won’t be long before we hear stories of me dating my female classmates.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Other Favorite Ag Blogs
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page